“The only people for me are the mad ones”

I’ve been trying to make more time for myself… more space in my life for the things that make me happy. I got four books for Christmas, and this morning I broke into my first one! On the Road, by Jack Keroauc is awesomely awesome, and I’m only on page 25! His writing is so unique, I love it. Normally when I read I like to underline certain phrases or small passages that really resonate with me or that I want to remember later, and I have to stop myself from underlining entire paragraphs at a time with him!

“They rushed down the street together, digging everything in the early way they had, which later became so much sadder and perceptive and blank. But then they danced down the streets like dingledodies, and I shambled after as I’ve been doing all my life after people who interest me, because the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ “

Really, he is fantastic. My friend, Kaitlin, is actually really into him and recommended his work to me a while ago. I am thrilled I’m finally getting around to it :)

Since I have to be at work at 9 am each day, I have been waking up extra early and getting to the CoffeeBean around 8 so I can spend an hour reading. The CoffeeBean has definitely become my favorite coffee chain; they use powder instead of syrup- makes it so creamy! I digress, I love their drinks, and the people at this one are so extremely friendly. Then I sit in one of the tables by the front in the sun and dive into Jack’s world. This will also be the perfect place to make sure I take full advantage of my Time magazine subscription, which I have absolutely been slacking on. The thing about that magazine is that every page is sooo interesting! The diagrams are so detailed, and the articles so thought-provoking and intriguing, it takes me an hour or two to go through each issue. And they come all the time.

Anyway… reading and coffee go hand in hand, and it’s nice to have that personal time in the morning. I think I’m going to keep this habit up. Cheers to you, bookworms!

This entry was published on January 9, 2013 at 8:13 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

