“You only get what you give away; So give love.”

What a wonderful weekend I’ve had… Some days it’s easier to be grateful than others (although I’m working on consistency).

On Saturday I picked up my finished surfboard. I had been shaping my long-board with friends at Shaper Studios (a surfboard shaping workshop in San Diego) since Valentine’s Day, and after nearly two months I got to see my finished baby. She is a beauty!!!!! I took two 4-5 hours lessons to shape the foam, then she was used in a glassing demo where my friends Kory and Derrik put down the fiberglass and resin (color). The fellas at Shapers then took care of the rest- putting in the fin box, putting on the bright green pin-line around the top…. so much hard work went into making it perfect. And she is perfect.

me

Feeling extremely happy, grateful, and oh so stoked. THANK YOU to some rad friends who helped me create my dream surfing board! AH! #wheresurfingismade @shaperstudios

 

I feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to shape my own board at Shaper’s. The people are not only awesome, but I learned a lot about surfboards and the finite details that go into every board and what they do. On Saturday I picked out a fin, a leash, put them on, waxed her up, loaded her onto my car with the help of master-glasser Kory (thanks for keeping me from looking like a kook), and straight from there took her to a good long-boarding spot in Pacific Beach called Tourmaline.

We had fun at Tourmo, but there was actually swell coming in so the waves got pretty big. I got to feel out my board a little bit, and I’m really looking forward to taking her out again when the waves get less windy and the swell dies down a bit. But ahhh… the feeling of seeing your finished creative project… it must be one of the best feelings there is. Watching something you created from scratch come to life. It’s incredibly inspiring and gives me a great sense of pride. I think the best part was the fact that it was an extremely dynamic project. I didn’t go into it thinking it would turn out anything like it did. I actually had no idea what to expect when I began my first shaping lesson… and I think it is the open-minded outlook I had about everything that allowed it to take it’s shape the way it did. If I had gone into it trying to make it something super specific and rigid and not allowed any spontaneous creativity or emotion influence my decisions… well it wouldn’t have turned out as fun, wacky, and totally rad as it did. I’m really proud of her, and of myself. :)

On Sunday morning, I got a package in the mail from my best friend, Lisa Mari, who lives in Bergen, Norway. See contents below:

lisa

The best birthday present from the best friend. I miss you all days. PS- the chocolate is gone. <3

I don’t know if you’ve ever tasted European chocolate, but it is DRAMATICALLY better than American chocolate. The photos were from disposable cameras she brought when the visited in the fall – they are very, very special to me. She is very dear to me, and I wish she was around nearly every day. I can’t wait to visit her in Norway… it’s something I just need to save a lot for. But she is one of those friends where it was just meant to be. We found each other and we both just knew that it was something special. And we still know this. I feel truly blessed and lucky to have met her.

Between Narwhal (my board) and Lisa Mari, I am feeling very blessed. I have wonderful people in my life, and I am feeling as young, creative, and alive as ever.

 

XO.

This entry was published on April 12, 2013 at 8:36 am. It’s filed under Friends, Gratitude Attitude, Inspired, Instagram, Surf and Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

