“It’s just a spark, but it’s enough to keep me going”

A lot of changes happening in my life lately. The past month has been so incredible… and incredibly busy. Things are moving quickly, and I am running to keep up – in a good way. I ended work at Outsource Technical and took a job with Jamie Ortiz Communications.

Jamie turns out to be pretty much the radest chick ever, and she talked me out of my other offer to come and work with her. She offered me a more desirable job in all aspects, and made it very clear she wants to work with me in establishing my perfect position within her company. And boy, am I happy I took it. She even told me today how happy she is that I decided to come with her. And that I have no idea how many curse words went through her mind when she found out I took the other offer. Haha.

Amidst the work meetings at the Velodrome, Happy Hour, and biking to coffee in the morning, Jamie is teaching me tremendous amounts about PR and Marketing every day. I like to think I am catching on quickly… and I am feeling more like a partner to her every day. I am still learning and probably will be for a while… but that is what I wanted. Being in a job where you know how to do everything is nice for a while, but then you get so comfortable you begin to feel stagnant. And then you get unhappy, and begin to question life. We all need change- to let go, move on and grow who we are.

Jamie is extremely on board with personal growth… we talked about it today while we took a break from work and dipped our feet in the pool. About how it is important to be a strong, independent person and always look for ways to improve in all areas of life. Which is another reason I adore her- she is not just a boss/coworker, but a friend, mentor and someone who gets my jokes and makes me laugh, too. And she encourages me to take vacations. She realizes the importance of travel, and wants me to do as much of it as I can. And I will!

Also, I bike commute to work now. And I have a ticket on my car to prove it – because I forgot to move it for street sweeping this morning. Who decided they could street sweep 4 days a week anyway?! Wtf, San Diego.

So many firsts in my life these days. I’ve met a ton of new people, reached out in marketing ways I never have before, ordered business cards with my twitter handle on them, watched Velodrome races, went to a food tasting, became a legit bicycle commuter, drank coffee with raw sugar, explored Ocean Beach, and more. I feel happy; that I am growing, being challenged, and coming into who I am. I can feel it happening.

“Waiting for someone else to make you happy is the easiest way to be sad.”All the quotes say it. You have to make yourself happy, and you have to love who you are before you can expect anyone else to.

So… I am going to continue doing this, and feeling this way (however I’ve been doing it so far). I think it is with lots of coffee, an open mind, and a smile. I know this sounds cheesy, but I’ve been just going into things with a good attitude and they have been really rewarding so far. I don’t know… I think life isn’t as hard as we make it sometimes. And we don’t need to always be in control if we treat life with exuberance and appreciation.

My rant for the evening is over… Good night beautiful people. Smile on.

Screen Shot 2013-05-21 at 11.10.48 PM

This entry was published on May 22, 2013 at 9:50 am. It’s filed under Finding My Way, Gratitude Attitude, Inspired, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

